https://www.google.com.ph/search?q=blue+moon+in+the+philippines&espv=2&biw=1093&bih=534&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAWoVChMI59uv27OFxwIVzjWICh3kNQkV#tbm=isch&q=full+moon&imgrc=bGenI8mt3wzc5M%3A

A ‘Once In A Blue Moon’ Thought

As I gazed at the moon just now (a couple of minutes before I started writing this, yes!), I was overwhelmed with this recognition: The very hands which created this majestic heavenly body is the same pair of hands which knitted every fiber of my being.

I so easily get caught in a trance whenever I see His glorious artworks: the ocean, the trees, the birds, the moon… anything natural! Seriously, who wouldn’t? We are so appreciative of the organic structure of things, of the imperfections of angles, lines, and curves which make things even more appealing to our senses. But it is very seldom for me to appreciate people’s physical beauty, especially my own. And somehow, I realized that’s unfair to God.

He created everything that I can lay my eyes on–all of these and me. He conceived and molded each and every visual feature of all things. He designed us. I know that, and yet when it comes to me, I find it very hard to believe. I know for a fact that every person is just as stunning and distinct as the natural beauties that we see, but I’ve never seen myself as beautiful.

But here’s the thing: I am a person. I am a creation of the Master of the universe. I am the daughter of the King of kings.

And with those in mind, here’s my once in a blue moon thought (which literally came as I was looking at a ‘blue moon’):

I am beautiful whether I see it or not, whether I believe it or not.

I am adored by my Creator–we all are. And there’s no arguing with that.

I think all women in all of history have struggled to actually claim and believe that thought for at least in once in their lives. It’s just not easy, really. But it’s just like what C.S. Lewis have said,

Remember He is the artist and you are only the picture. You can’t see it. So quietly submit to be painted.

😉

Leave a Reply

