#TEDTalkTuesday: The best gift I ever survived

I’ve been quite busy with my Practicum course, and haven’t got much time to read and write for pleasure. Bummer, I know. But it wouldn’t hurt to still go with what I’ve started, right?

For this week, I stumbled upon this short and sweet talk: Stacey Kramer’s The best gift I ever survived.

The title already gives you a hint of what it might be about, but for those who heard it live about six years ago… well, let’s just say that it might have left the audience’s jaws open or eyes watering.

This video’s description in ted.com is truly fitting: it is moving and personal. I’m not sure if anyone can share such things given that span of time and still have such an impact. Kramer’s parable truly captures your interest and realigns your perspective as she lets you in with what she’s experienced… without telling you yet as to what caused it.

We’ve all heard or read stories like this before. And as always, it leaves me in awe of these people who’s been there and done it. Who’s conquered it and shared it.

But they also get me thinking, Do I have to go through what they’ve been through to be as brave, passionate, and inspiring as they are?

We all got a fair share of our struggles and personal hell, and somehow we still go on comparing that others have a lighter or a heavier burden on their shoulders (or at least I know I do). I want to be as bold and stirring as these people who talks about their experiences, but I am not asking to be put in the same trial rooms as they’ve been into. So, how can I be (to some extent) be like them?

Right now, all I know is that listening to them and taking in their wisdom might not have the same inculcating effect on me as what their experiences have engraved on them, but I could start from there. Experience is indeed the best teacher, but I have to concede that I cannot experience it all. I can only take their words for it… and let my own experiences teach me (with love, scars, and all) the way I’m supposed to be personally taught.

I have to see and truly grasp what I can learn from my own everyday circumstances, no matter how mundanely dry or blindingly terrible they appear to be at the moment. That is the kind of sensitivity that I want to develop–to be appreciative not only of other’s ordeal, but of my own life episodes, too.

🙂

Teach me your ways, O LORD, that I may live according to your truth! Grant me purity of heart, so that I may honor you.

Psalm 86:11 (NLT)


(To know more about the Stacey Kramer, you may visit her profile here. Video courtesy of ted.com)
Leave a Reply

